RELIGIOUS HOMOPHOBIA – DIALOG AND HATRED AGAINST GAY PEOPLE

On December 15, 2012, I posted on this blog the post “THE POPE AND THE GAY MARRIAGE” and this blog totalized more than 1200 visits in a few hours, almost all from the USA. The article deals with some recent statements by the Pope (Benedict XVI) on the subject of gay couples. Obviously I cannot agree with the statements of the Pope. My post is critical but not aggressive, as in the style of Gay Project. I posted the same article also in Italian on Italian sites. I received from U.S. some comments on this blog that left me very puzzled, comments that tend aggressively to religious fundamentalism, something that in Europe is inconceivable. The same article in the U.S. has picked up in practice only aggressive comments, I think also from homosexuals, on the contrary, in Italy, the comments came only from gay guys, also believers, and often with critical but not aggressive attitudes against the Pope:

http://progettogayforum.altervista.org/viewtopic.php?f=73&t=3024

You can read below, literally, the comments that left me more puzzled:

1) “homosexuals have to be atheist and agnostics in order to condone their unnatural sexual appetite and behavior. If they really believed in a higher power that created this world and actually has certain ordinances and rules that we should all try to live by, they wouldn’t try to promote their filthy and sinful lifestyle”

2) “Queer marriage is just so wrong!!! It’s not only a sin against God, and His basic design for mankind, it’s a sin against mankind! It is also an aberration against human anatomy! And no, I’m not homoPHOBIC, perverts disgust me, they don’t make me AFRAID! I just can’t believe how a handful of perverts on this earth, could brainwash so many people into accepting this abomination! It looks like we need to start counter-brainwashing schemes to get things right again!”

3) “God loves us all and all of us are sinners. Be it adultery, homosexuality, sex before marriage, etc., but it is all sin. God wants us to love one another and Him and to turn away from the sin and love Him more than the sin. I love all too. I pray we all turn to Him. I am a sinner too and I do not want anyone to accept my sin as right. It is not.”

I think that people who express themselves with such aggressiveness are themselves victims of prejudices coming from an education that has led them to misunderstand the key messages of religion. I do not condemn these people but just what they say, and I hope they have a chance to overcome their prejudices opening their hearts to truly understand the arguments of others and to prove this way that religion has really an enormous positive potential of understanding and love. We all need to know and understand the arguments of others without pronouncing judgments.

Religious people in U.S. are so radically homophobic? I’d like to understand where this homophobia comes from. Thank you in advance for your further comments. I think that the compatibility of the homosexuality, experienced as a true form of love, and the Christianity is a major issue.

_______
If you like, you can join the discussion on this post on Gay Project Forum:
3 thoughts on “RELIGIOUS HOMOPHOBIA – DIALOG AND HATRED AGAINST GAY PEOPLE

  1. The term Religious Homophobia is really a misnomer. Christianity to a true christian who really has the knowledge and understanding of the bible scriptures is not just a religion but is the true path to everlasting life and must respond accordingly , Our “prejudices” are based on our teachings from the BIBLE itself. THE Bible explicitly says that homosexuality is an an abomination unto the LORD. And that which GOD hates I must despise also. You see, the BIBLE says that man must not lean unto his own understanding but in all his ways acknowledge HIM and HE will direct your path. Homophobia means fear, a christian doesn’t fear, he despises. The BIBLE says the path to GODS kingdom is a narrow way and the path to destruction is wide. When one questions ” what is the meaning of life and what is my first purpose in life”,the answer is to worship GOD and obey HIS commandments. “Free Will” is GODS way of testing mans’ desire to obey HIM or choose his own way, GOD wants us to love HIM and obey HIM unconditionally. Same sex marriage is a design by sinful man and not ordained by GOD. All scripture are inspired by and of GOD and are profitable for instruction, correction, reproof, and righteousness. Theres nothing righteous in GODS eyes in homosexuality ….We must all pray for WISDOM,UNDERSTANDING, and KNOWLEDGE . The BIBLE is the SOURCE……..Peace and much love.

    • Do you know of any people who are gay? I would disagree that there is no righteousness in two people coming together in love, sharing life together. There is kindness, compassion, love, forgiveness, joy, and many other attributes that the Bible encourages Christians to be and have.

      For clarity, do you despise gay people? How do you interact with gay people when your beliefs condemn their sexual orientation, who they are as people?

    • I can only tell you what I think. Or we read the Bible in a historical dimension framing it in a specific historical period or we risk ending up in the paradox because nowadays some rules are not only against the law but against the morality rightly understood.
      Are we to believe that we must respect commandments as the following?
      – And thine eye shall not pity; but life shall go for life, eye for eye, tooth for tooth, hand for hand, foot for foot. (Deuteronomy 19,21)
      – If a man have a stubborn and rebellious son, which will not obey the voice of his father, or the voice of his mother, and that, when they have chastened him, will not hearken unto them: then shall his father and his mother lay hold on him, and bring him out unto the elders of his city, and unto the gate of his place; and they shall say unto the elders of his city, This our son is stubborn and rebellious, he will not obey our voice; he is a glutton, and a drunkard. And all the men of his city shall stone him with stones, that he die: so shalt thou put evil away from among you; and all Israel shall hear, and fear. (Deuteronomy 21:18-21)
      – The woman shall not wear that which pertaineth unto a man, neither shall a man put on a woman’s garment: for all that do so are abomination unto the LORD thy God. (Deuteronomy 22.5)
      – Thou shalt not plow with an ox and an ass together. Thou shalt not wear a garment of divers sorts, as of woollen and linen together. (Deuteronomy 22.10-11)
      – Thou shalt not muzzle the ox when he treadeth out the corn. (Deuteronomy 25.4)
      These things are part of the Law of Moses, why still so many people condemn homosexuality citing the Bible and does not condemn the refusal of levirate or the fact of dressing fabrics made of mixed wool and linen?
      Jesus said to those who were about to stone an adulteress according to the law of Moses: “If any one of you is without sin, let him be the first to throw a stone at her” opposing the Law of Moses a new law which has only one pillar: You shall love God with all your heart, that is according to your conscience, and your neighbor as yourself.
      I invite you to read this passage:
      31 “When the Son of Man comes in his glory, and all the angels with him, he will sit on his glorious throne. 32 All the nations will be gathered before him, and he will separate the people one from another as a shepherd separates the sheep from the goats. 33 He will put the sheep on his right and the goats on his left.
      34 “Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world. 35 For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, 36 I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’
      37 “Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? 38 When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? 39 When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’
      40 “The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’
      41 “Then he will say to those on his left, ‘Depart from me, you who are cursed, into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his angels. 42 For I was hungry and you gave me nothing to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me nothing to drink, 43 I was a stranger and you did not invite me in, I needed clothes and you did not clothe me, I was sick and in prison and you did not look after me.’
      44 “They also will answer, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry or thirsty or a stranger or needing clothes or sick or in prison, and did not help you?’
      45 “He will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did not do for one of the least of these, you did not do for me.’
      46 “Then they will go away to eternal punishment, but the righteous to eternal life.”
      (Matthew, C.25, vv. 31-46).
      This passage clearly says what we will be judged on, the day of judgment, and frankly there is nothing that seems to resemble the law of Moses, that was the old law, this is the new one.

Leave a Reply

